Channel content questions (new to Kolibri)

I am new to Kolibri but am very familiar with edu tech.

1- I have content which is suitable for only a set of schools.
a) Is it possible to publish that channel as private?
Is it stored in the cloud and only retrievable by those who are given a token?
Or is everything published automatically open access?

2- Regarding the data model, what part of “LMS” content is in the channel vs local server?
For example
a) are the lesson plans stored with the channel content in the cloud or is that on the local server only?

b) Is it possible to allow some documents to be locally edited by the coach/teacher?
Use case: a lesson plan or a PDF/ePUB document which they need to adjust for their needs.

c) I fully understand that the only published doc types for learners are PDF/ePUB. Got it.
Is it possible to include documents for coach use only (MS-Office or Libre Office docs) in a channel?

3- Is there any restriction of what HTML / Javascript content is not allowed in a channel?
Specific use case:
We have a large amount of curated apps and custom content which are running on Linux laptops.
We should be able to build a simple static HTML/js page which invokes that standalone app — for example TuxPaint. The self-paced learning could have a few videos / docs for the learner to read and then they get to an activity step. This HTML page in the channel would give them the prompt and launch the app. Is that possible?

I’ve read the content integration guide and other parts of the docs and FAQs but have yet to find anything about these topics. Maybe it is there and I’ve just not found that.

MANY thanks in advance!

Hi @Ted_Hein,

Welcome to the Learning Equality forums!

1. Channels can be curated on Kolibri Studio, using content you upload or publicly available content from the Kolibri Content Library. The channels you create on Studio are private by default, and can only be imported if you have the token or channel ID.