KA Lite server won't start on Raspberry PI 3 -- eth0 and wlan0 both go dead

I am trying to load a Raspberry PI 3 with Ka Lite, latest version as of 7/25/2016, then use it to serve a classroom of tablets.

I’m following KA Lite Versions 0.12 instructions exactly.

All is fine until i get to “4. Install the USB adapter software”. I do “sudo ./use_wipi.h”. Then I continue to “5. Complete the access point configuration”. After I do “sudo insserv hostapd”, both wlan0 and eth0 freeze up, and I’m dead in the water.

“kalite” does show up as a wireless network, but I cannot connect to it.

I tried continuing to following steps (edit ifplugd and /etc/network/interfaces, then reboot), but if I do, then after the reboot i’ve again got no eth0 or wlan0, so dead in the water.

Only way out it to reflash raspian and start over. That goes normally – up to the same point.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong? Sorry if this is a repeat question. I’m new to KA Lite.

Hello @jsterken,

I have installed several KA lite on Raspberry Pi 3 from CanaKit. I have a few questions to be able to help narrow down on the problem and help out.

1. Did you use the same CanaKit or a different one? If CanaKit then there is just a few tweeks with /etc/network/interfaces to get it to work.
  2. Why did you choose v0.12 and not the latest 0.16.* as this seem to be the most stable and easier to install.

Hello Elvis,
Thanks for your response. I’ve been installing version 0.16.6 all along, but I’m embarrassed to say that late last night I realized I was using old 0.12 documentation. I am reinstalling from scratch now using the 0.16.6 installation instructions. Hopefully this will work better.

Note: it would be best if those instruction said to start with “sudo apt-get update”. I had to do that first, else “sudo apt-get install python…” failed with missing file errors.